Verplanck School 1950

Verplanck Elementary School on Olcott St. in Manchester was named after Fred Ayer Verplanck, the first superintendent of the consolidated Manchester Public School System. The cornerstone for the school was laid in 1949, and the school officially opened for classes in September of 1950. The school was unique in having its own large public outdoor swimming pool behind its back wing.

The orginal entrance to the school was renovated in the late 1970's to accommodate a larger library area, and a major renovation/expansion to the school began in the summer of 2018 in order to add more students from the consolidation of other town schools. Verplanck School, looking very different, is scheduled to re-open in the Fall of 2019.

Prints & Products